Adjusting to Life at Home

Well, we’ve been back for about four months now. Things are starting to settle down a bit and life is getting a bit easier. The most frequent question that people ask me is “So, how are you adjusting to life back home?” I’d say I’m adjusting well. I think that the biggest amount of culture shock I’ve had in all my travels was when I came home from England. I wasn’t expecting any major culture shock, but it was certainly there. I think that the biggest adjustment that I have had (and continue to have) is going into stores. The stores all seem HUGE and packed full of stuff. I often feel overwhelmed by the decisions that I have to make about everything in the stores here. My brain goes into sensory overload as I realise that I can read all the labels and I don’t have to guess at what I’m buying. The variety of food that is available here is crazy. Asparagus, spinach, zucchini, eggplants, avocados, bananas, apples, strawberries… the list goes on. I’m trying to slowly eat my way through all the foods that I’ve missed over the past two years!

I must admit that I miss Asia. I miss Korean food (mmm… kimbap, duengjong jiggae, bi bim bap…), the Seoul subway and the ease of getting around. I miss the relaxed lifestyle, less choice, and  the adventures that come with living in a culture where you don’t speak the language. I don’t miss the pushing (though I’m trying to stop doing it myself!), the inability to communicate basic ideas/needs with others, and the last minute things that were thrown at me.

There are certainly things that I miss about living abroad, but I am happy to be home. It’s been great spending time with friends and family. I’m looking forward to feeling a bit more settled as we find permanent employment and finally have a home of our own.

~ by dawseng on December 15, 2009.

One Response to “Adjusting to Life at Home”

  1. Mmm…Korean food. You know we can always meet in Koreatown for some bibimbap! There’s even an EMart.

    I’m happy that you’re both home. Everything will come together in time :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

