House!

One of the things that totally brightens my day is lunch time. There’s this little grade two boy who lines up for lunch in the cafeteria. I always hear him before I see him as I hear “House”. I turn around and there is this boy, smiling away, so proud that he has managed to say something in English to the Native teacher. This has been going on for the past month. One of my co-teachers finally asked him if he knew what house meant – he replied “네” (“yes” in Korean) but said that he liked to say house. I can’t complain, in fact, I think I would be kind of sad if he stopped saying house to me.

I wish I had a picture of this kid, he’s so cute and totally makes my day 🙂 You’ll have to enjoy this pic instead. For our school’s science day all the students were involved in trying to fly something. My grade sixes made water rockets (so cool… will try to post my video or some photos later), the grade ones made paper airplanes!

~ by dawseng on April 30, 2008.

2 Responses to “House!”

  1. Awwww! That’s super sweet! This is why I miss teaching little ones…

    Sorry to hear about all the crap at school. Hope things get better after the long weekend.

  2. My co-teacher talked to him this past week and told me that the reason he says “house” is because he knows that I wouldn’t understand 집 if he said that, so he translates it into “house” for me. (집 is apparently Korean for house.) These days he’s started just mouthing “house” when he sees me and follows up with a “hi” afterwards. He totally makes my day 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
