Rain and Pie Tins

On Monday it rained, a lot. I was home sick, but ended up going to visit the doctor in the morning. On my way home I bought a pie tin (plate?) These are VERY difficult to come by in Seoul, but I managed to find one in Hongdae (a hip university area of Seoul) close to my doctor’s office.

Now, you might be thinking, “Jen, I’m sorry that you were sick. It’s too bad that it rained CATS and DOGS when you were leaving the doctor’s office… but why, oh why, did you write about pie tins too?” Well, I would answer that I didn’t think it was going to rain until the evening, so I didn’t bring an umbrella. Jeff and I had just talked about how many umbrellas we own (4), before coming to Korea I had never owned an umbrella in my life (!) so I didn’t want to buy another one, we already had four at home! So, as I walked from the bakery shop (store? Oh geeze… my English skills are rapidly decreasing, I need to get myself back to a country where English is the first language… this happened to me in Uganda too!) I decided to use the pie tin (plate?) as an umbrella. Please keep in mind that this is the smallest pie tin (plate?) EVER. It says that it’s 9 inches, but I don’t believe it, I think it’s maybe 5 inches…. So, here I was, this crazy white girl, without an umbrella, walking through Hongdae to get to the subway station, with a pie plate (tin?) on my head. Needless to say I was sopping wet by the time I reached the station. Every few steps I’d tilt the pie plate (tin?) and water would come splooshing (nice word eh!) off the plate and onto the sidewalk (I moved out of the way to avoid the drippage). So, that was my adventure with a pie tin… Next time I’ll pack my umbrella.

P.S. The next day I went out and my umbrella couldn’t handle the excessive rain… it ended up breaking (kind of). I’m going to press on until I’m finished here, but I don’t think that my beloved umbrella will be travelling to Mongolia with us (see why I don’t bother owning umbrellas?! Raincoats never (rarely?) break!!)

~ by dawseng on June 4, 2008.

One Response to “Rain and Pie Tins”

  1. Can I suggest not bringing ANY umbrellas? In my 10 months here, I have experienced rain that lastd more than 5 min. only twice. Once it was a massive thunderstorm, and the other was a light drizzle that lasted about an hour.

Leave a Reply

 
