Getting Through the First Week

Well, we made it through the first week of school. After spending a couple of weeks getting settled, I finally opened the doors to my classroom and met my first grade students. I have 22 kids, most of whom don’t speak English (some of them understand what I’m saying but can’t speak back to me), but they’re pretty cute. One of my kids is from Korea and doesn’t speak a lick of English. Most of my other kids are Mongolian (with one Canadian/Khurdz thrown in). I work with a Program Assistant who translates and helps me to make sure that the kids stay on task and know what they’re doing.

Unfortunately the shipment that was coming from Canada with all of the school’s textbooks, construction paper, and other resources has been delayed due to the Olympics. The shipment is stuck in Hong Kong and probably won’t be here until November. That means that Jeff is without grade 10 textbooks, and that the resources that were used last year for one class (now almost every grade has two classes instead of one) must be divided and used for two classes. It makes it interesting and forces you to be creative.

We’ve met some great people and seem to have settled in well. There is still lots to learn (and TONS of planning!!) but our principals are amazingly supportive and seem like they’re going to make this a great school year.

Hopefully over the next week I’ll post some pictures of my classroom. This past week both Jeff and I left for school at 8am, came home around 5 (or 5:15) after working almost without a break (my kids are still learning the procedures…) and kept planning sometimes until 8:30 or 9pm. It’s been a really long week, but we survived. Each day got better and I’m hoping that next week will get even better.

~ by dawseng on September 7, 2008.

One Response to “Getting Through the First Week”

  1. We’ve been thinking a lot of you two over here. We are praying for you and we hope that things start to smooth out. Hey…did you get our package?

Leave a Reply

 
