The beginning of a new year

Wow, it’s been a long time since we last updated! Things have slowly gotten back to normal as we settle back into life in Ulaanbaatar. One of my goals for the new year is to spend more time exploring Ulaanbaatar and trying to make the city feel like home. One of the oddest things that happened during our trip to Thailand happened during our stop-over in Seoul.

Mmm... my favourite street food!

Mmm... my favourite street food!

We got off the plane and took a bus into the city with Megan and Jonny. Just stepping into the Seoul airport felt like home. Walking along the streets of Seoul I felt comfortable and happy. I didn’t have to worry about pickpockets, I feel comfortable ordering food (and boy did we eat!!) and it just felt like home.

Cutting the kim chi!

Cutting the kim chi!

I want to try and re-create that feeling now that we’re back in Ulaanbaatar. This is not an easy city to live in. It’s tough. It’s bleak. It’s cold and dreary. We’re far (a 45 min bus ride in bad traffic) from the city. There’s not much to do. In Seoul we were out every weekend hiking mountains, visiting museums, shopping… here, we go grocery shopping and then come home. So, I’ve decided that it’s time to make a change. It’s time to make more of an effort to get to know this city, this place that I call home.

There will be more posts coming soon, I promise. We have a few pictures to post of our time in Thailand (so warm and relaxing… and so wonderful to see Bo and Jeff!) so hopefully we can get those up soon. And I’m hoping to make a bigger effort to post more frequently on this blog too, it’s been too long!

Bo and Jeff kayaking over the dam just north of Chiang Mai, Thailand

Bo and Jeff kayaking over the dam just north of Chiang Mai, Thailand

~ by dawseng on January 16, 2009.

4 Responses to “The beginning of a new year”

  1. I Love your site!!! Come visit mine at http://www.wreathconnection.com view my blog at http://wreathconnection.wordpress.com/ or furthermore, add me as a friend to your Myspace… Last Name Kish

  2. Wow that is one amazing photo of Bo and Jeff in the kayak!

  3. Just wanted to give a big shout out to two great friends for some great cookies!! You guys are so random and we LOVE it!!
    R+T

  4. I noticed this the first time I saw this post…but I could swear the girl in between you guys is Sara…

Leave a Reply

 
