Home Sweet Home

First off, let me wish you (if you are a woman reading this…) a happy International Women’s Day. This is a holiday that I first celebrated in Uganda at my refugee settlement. We had a party (or a festival…) that included speeches (lots of speeches, long speeches… but speeches honouring women nonetheless), refreshments (bottled soda and some kind of sweet bread I’m sure) and music. Since March 8th in 2004 I have not really remembered or celebrated International Women’s Day. Until this year.

Mongolians love to do up this holiday. My co-worker kept asking me what I was doing for the day. All weekend I saw Mongolian men walking around with cakes (oh my goodness, the grocery store was piled high with cakes!! I’ve never seen so many cakes in one place in my life!!!), and flowers intended for their wives or girlfriends, perhaps even their sisters or their mothers. A few of my female co-workers and I were invited to another co-worker’s home for brunch in honour of International Women’s Day.

What I really wanted to talk about in this post was not International Women’s Day, but homes, and the feeling of being settled. Ever since Jeff and I were married we have been living in apartments in Asia. We haven’t bothered to really do anything to make these places reflect us because, well, to be honest, it just doesn’t seem worth it. We were in Korea for a year, and now in Mongolia for another year… we just haven’t stayed in a place long enough to put down roots. Our current apartment is more just a white space that has a few things that reflect the people (us) who live there. We haven’t invested in many things to make our apartment truly home because we would have to decide to either ship the stuff home (EXPENSIVE FROM MONGOLIA!!) or leave it here. It just doesn’t seem worth it to make that investment. I’d rather save our money and purchase things for our home when we’re back in Canada. So while we have a home here, it still doesn’t feel homey. Our co-worker’s place is amazing. It’s not a fancy apartment, it’s not very big, but it feels like a home. It feels lived in and welcoming. It’s not the same sterile apartment that the rest of us live in. It’s hers. That’s one of the biggest things that I’m looking forward to when we go back to Canada – actually investing the time and money into a place that we can call our own. Now all we have to do is find jobs to finance this home of ours!!

~ by dawseng on March 8, 2009.

One Response to “Home Sweet Home”

  1. I remember that Women’s Day back in 2004! The rain clouds over Oruchinga’s hills, the colourful umbrellas and Alex, Giddion, Maniteze and the other men dressed up in drag as we sat in the shelter of Rwamurunga SS’s outcropped roof! I can also relate to FINALLY making a place your home – Brent and I just framed 3 paintings I’ve been carrying around with me since Ghana (2002!). Happy International Women’s Day Jen and Jeff!

Leave a Reply

 
