Periogies

Yum! These are probably one of my favourite foods, and one of the things that just isn’t available in Asia. So, I learned how to make them. One of my friends in Korea first introduced me to the idea that you could actually make periogies instead of buying them at the store, wow, what an introduction! She gave me a simple recipe – mix equal parts sour cream with flour, knead the dough and roll out. Add potato filling and throw them in a pot of boiling water. After a couple of batches made using that recipe I found that I needed more. I needed more flavour, more punch, more zest. So I added some Indian spices to my potatoes. Tandori masala, tumeric… I experimented. But, I still needed more. After arriving in Mongolia I had already made a few batches of (VERY LABOUR INTENSIVE!) periogies. Already I could feel that we may never go back to the storebought ones. Back home I was picky about my periogies, I liked one certain brand that could only be purchased at one store (if I was lucky…) but now that I make my own I’m not sure that I can eat those from the store. The unfortunate part is that making less than 100 periogies takes me a whole afternoon – and intense afternoon. But it’s totally worth it.

After playing around a lot with recipes, I’ve finally found one that I enjoy. I will share it here with you. I think that I found it on some Polish center’s website. I’m sorry I don’t have the original link!

Potato filling - Indian style

Potato filling - Indian style

Periogies

5 cups of flour

5 tbsp. melted butter (or 6 tbsp. oil for the poor folk!)

2 tbsp. sour cream

2 whole eggs

1 egg yolk

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 cup lukewarm water

Beat the eggs. Melt the butter. Mix the salt and water.

In a big bowl mix 4 cups of flour with the butter (or oil) and sour cream. Add the eggs and water.

Knead the dough and add the extra cup of flour. Cover and let stand for 15 minutes.

Before I make the dough I make a ton of mashed potatoes (about a kilo) and add various seasonings. Sometimes it’s Indian spices, other times it’s just some fresh herbs, cheese, sauteed garlic and onion, and salt. You can feel free to be creative!

Mmm... these ones haven't been boiled yet!

Mmm... these ones haven't been boiled yet!

Roll the dough into a long snake. Cut pieces of the dough and roll flat. Add the potato (or yummy apple!) filling and press some water along the edge of the dough to seal the periogie. Throw (or gently place) the periogies into a pot of boiling water and let them cook. When they’re finished you can put them on a cookie sheet to let them cool then put them in a plastic bag in the freezer. When you want to eat them just heat up the frying pan and add a bit of oil. Yum!

Boiled and ready for the freezer or the frying pan.

Boiled and ready for the freezer or the frying pan.

I have tried adding apples – basically I make an apple sauce – to my periogies and they too are delicious. Apples are expensive here so when I received some from my student’s parent I made a fresh apple sauce and scooped it into the periogies. Serve warm with ice cream, yum!

Apples for the periogies

Apples for the periogies

~ by dawseng on June 2, 2009.

7 Responses to “Periogies”

  1. yummy! I haven’t tried the recipe you gave me when I was visiting so now I’m going to have to compare. I forgot to ask before but how long do you boil the perogies for?

  2. I have a pretty sweet recipe for sweet potato and smoked gouda perogies. They’re pretty tasty.

  3. Jackie – This is the recipe that I gave you. I just boil them until they float on top of the water.

    Magwood – Yum! I’d love to get it from you sometime 🙂

  4. Thanks! I think I’ll be making periogies this upcoming weekend…

  5. I make a great cabbage filling saute 2 large onions with stick of margarine till lightly browned set aside boil a small head of cabbage chopped up boil till soft drain and squeeze out any excess water and add to the onion mixture and mix well add salt and pepper and fill.. yummy

  6. Cabbage ones are awesome I also make the farmers cheese ones 2lbs farmers cheese 2 eggs and 3 tablespoons sugar mix well together and fill .also a favorite in my household…

Leave a Reply

 
