And we’re off!

It’s hard to believe, but we have finished our last day of school here in Mongolia, have packed up our apartment, and are waiting to get on a plane to Korea. I shaved off most of Jeff’s hair today and we’ve tied up our loose ends.

The year here has been interesting, hard, and amazing. I will truly miss my kids and the people of this country. Mongolia is blessed with blue skies and vast landscapes. I seem to have inadvertently fallen in love with Mongolia.

And now we’re off. First we head for a short day trip into Seoul to visit friends, then we fly to Indonesia. After two weeks there we’ll spend a couple of days in Kuala Lampur before heading off to Hanoi (in Vietnam). We plan to travel down Vietnam and cross into Cambodia where we’ll spend about a week touring a bit of the country. After Cambodia comes Laos, followed by (hopefully) a couple of days in Bangkok before we fly home to Toronto via Ahbu Dhabi on August 15th.

I have a feeling that the next few weeks will be a whirlwind tour.  While I love to travel, I don’t really like to be a tourist, so it should be an interesting turn of events. I’ll go from being a local and knowing my way around a place to being brand spankin’ new and trying to figure out how things work. I’m looking forward to it nonetheless. We’ll be sure to post pictures and blogs about our adventures over the next weeks. I must say though, I really am looking forward to seeing my friends and family at the end of our trip – it’s been a long time!!

~ by dawseng on June 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
